Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee contributes to and endorses NCIRS’s long-term national research and surveillance strategy; systematically monitors the performance of NCIRS scientific outcomes; monitors the quality of the research and surveillance systems and processes used by NCIRS in its work; and identifies emerging matters that should be incorporated into the long-term strategy.


  • Professor Cheryl Jones, Professor of Paediatrics, Sydney Medical School, University of Sydney; Paediatric Infectious Diseases Specialist and Head, Centre for Perinatal Infection Research, The Children’s Hospital at Westmead

Deputy Chair

  • Associate Professor Heath Kelly, Head Epidemiology Division, Victorian Infectious Diseases Reference Laboratory, Melbourne

External members

  • Professor Ross Andrews, Deputy Director, Menzies School of Health Research, Brisbane
  • Ms Deanna Eldridge, Maternal Health, Children and Families Unit, Indigenous and Children’s Group, Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, Canberra
  • Professor Elizabeth Elliott, Director, Australian Paediatric Surveillance Unit, The Children’s Hospital at Westmead
  • Associate Professor Mike Gold, University Department of Paediatrics and the South Australian Immunisation Coordination Unit, Women’s and Children’s Hospital, Adelaide
  • Professor John Kaldor, Professor of Epidemiology and NHMRC Senior Principal Research Fellow, Public Health Interventions Research Group, The Kirby Institute for Infection and Immunity in Society, University of NSW
  • Associate Professor Stephen Lambert, Medical epidemiologist, Queensland Children's Medical Research Institute, Queensland Health Immunisation Program
  • Associate Professor John Litt, Discipline of General Practice, Flinders University; Deputy Chairman, National Quality Committee RACGP
  • Associate Professor Ben Marais, Paediatrics and Child Health, The Children's Hospital at Westmead, University of Sydney
  • Ms Alison Marcus, Consumer Health Forum representative, South Australia
  • Associate Professor Helen Marshall, Director, Vaccinology and Immunology Research Trials Unit, Women’s and Children’s Hospital, University of Adelaide
  • Associate Professor Jodie McVernon, Head, Modelling and Simulation Unit, Murdoch Childrens Research Institute and Melbourne School of Population and Global Health, University of Melbourne
  • Professor Terry Nolan, Head, Melbourne School of Population and Global Health, University of Melbourne
  • Associate Professor Peter Richmond, University of Western Australia School of Paediatrics and Child Health, Princess Margaret Hospital for Children, Perth
  • Associate Professor Lyndal Trevena, Associate Dean (International) and Researcher at the Centre for Medical Psychology and Evidence-based Decision‐making (CeMPED), School of Public Health, University of Sydney; General practitioner

Government representatives

  • Ms Sue Campbell-Lloyd AM, Manager, Immunisation Unit, AIDS/Infectious Diseases Branch, NSW Ministry of Health
  • Ms Brigid Dohnt, Director, Immunisation Policy Section, Immunisation Branch, Office of Health Protection, Australian Government Department of Health
  • Ms Rhonda Owen, Director, Vaccine Preventable Diseases Surveillance Section, Office of Health Protection, Australian Government Department of Health


  • Professor Peter McIntyre, Director, NCIRS
  • Professor Robert Booy, Head Clinical Research, NCIRS
  • Associate Professor Kristine Macartney, Deputy Director


  • Dr Melina Georgousakis, Research Fellow, NCIRS
  • Ms Lyn Benfield, Senior Project Officer, Policy Support, NCIRS